print Print    Share Share  
Weekly Email Weekly News Email   RSS Feed News RSS  

Feminist News


Eighteen Inducted into the National Women's Hall of Fame

Eighteen women were inducted into the National Women's Hall of Fame on Saturday. They are:

Virginia Apgar (1909-1974) - Invented the Apgar Scale, a life-saving health assessment test for newborns. Physician.
Ann Bancroft - First woman to reach the North and South Poles across the ice.
Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894) - Founded the first newspaper concerned with equality for women, The Lilly.
Mary Breckinridge (1881-1965) - Founded the Frontier Nursing Service which provides health care in rural areas.
Eileen Collins - First American woman to pilot a spacecraft.
Elizabeth Dole - Political leader, the first woman secretary of transportation.
Anne Dallas Dudley (1876-1955) Tennessee suffrage leader instrumental in the passage of the 19th Amerndment.
Mary Baker Eddy (1821-1910) - Started the Church of Christ, Scientist thus becoming the first American woman to found a worldwide religion
Ella Fitzgerald - Singer.
Margaret Fuller (1810-1850) - Feminist transcendentalist leader and teacher.
Matilda Joslyn Gage (1826-1898) - Suffrage leader and author.
Lillian Moller Gilbreth (1878-1972) - Industrial engineer and motion study expert. Improved industry and the home.
Nannerl Keohane - First woman president of Duke university. Political Scientist.
Maggie Kuhn (1905-1995) - Founded the Gray Panthers.
Sandra Day O'Connor - First woman justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Josephine St. Pierre Ruffin (1842-1924) - Abolitionist. Leader and organizer of African American women's organizations.
Patricia Schroeder - U.S. congresswoman. Her legislation has helped women tremendously.
Hannah Greenebaum Solomon (1858-1942) - Founder of the National Council of Jewish Women.

Media Resources: NewsHound, San Jose Mercury Press - October 14, 1995