Feminist Majority Hosts Women, Money, Power Summit Tomorrow

Feminist Majority will host the 2013 Women, Money, Power Summit tomorrow at the Capital Hilton in downtown Washington, DC. The Summit brings together feminist leaders, advocates, and decision-makers to exchange ideas and maximize our effectiveness in making women’s equality a priority.


The 2013 Summit will feature House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi who will highlight the House Democrats’ economic agenda for women and families, When Women Succeed, America Succeeds, and pay tribute to Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro, a champion for equal pay for women.

Feminist Majority will honor Congresswoman DeLauro as well as Barbara Arnwine, President and Executive Director of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, and Texas State Senator Leticia van De Putte with Fearless Trailblazer Awards. Congresswoman DeLauro is a champion of Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and the Affordable Care Act. She has worked tirelessly to achieve full pay equity for women, to ensure that all employees have access to paid sick days, and to expand access to affordable, quality child care. Arwine is a champion of civil rights and racial justice issues and is leading the charge for voters’ rights. Senator van de Putte played a critical role in the June filibuster of anti-abortion legislation in Texas and is a courageous fighter for reproductive rights, women’s rights and civil rights.

The Summit will include General Assembly Sessions throughout the day that will focus on stopping the War on Women’s health, improving global reproductive family planning policies, ending violence against women and implementing the Affordable Care Act. Speakers will include Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney, President of Feminist Majority Eleanor Smeal, President of National Organization for Women Terry O’Neill, President and CEO of the National Coalition on Black Civic Participation Melanie Campbell, President of Catholics for Choice Jon O’Brien, Susan Burke, a chief litigator of survivors of sexual assault, President of American Federation of Teachers Randi Weingarten, and many more.

Support eh ERA banner