Houston Claims WNBA Championship for Second Year

The Houston Comets are once again WNBA Champions after beating the Phoenix’s Mercury team last night, 80-71 before a sold-out crowd of 16,285. Last year, the Houston Comets became the WNBA’s first champions after edging-out New York’s team.

The Comets’ Cynthia Cooper scored 23 points in the final game and was named the league’s most valuable player for the second consecutive year. “I didn’t believe this championship would feel as good as the first one, but, oh man. When that buzzer sounded, I felt so many emotions. This one is definitely sweeter,” said Cooper after the game.

The Comets’ Tina Thompson scored 18 points and Sheryl Swoopes contributed 16, 11 of which were scored in the pivotal second-half.

Michelle Griffiths led the Mercury with 24 points, followed by Jennifer Gillom, who had 20


AP - September 1, 1998

Support eh ERA banner