New Teams Join Second-Season WNBA

The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) voted to add Minnesota and Orlando to the league for the 1999 season. Detroit and Washington, D.C. were added to this year’s 1998 season league.

The WNBA will begin its second year this summer with 10 teams. Houston, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Sacramento, and Utah make up the Western Conference. The Eastern Conference is comprised of Charlotte, Cleveland, New York, Washington, D.C., and Detroit.

The WNBA has scheduled 30-games for the 1998 season, which will begin on June 11.


Reuters - April 22, 1998

Support eh ERA banner