NOW Elects New Leadership

The National Organization for Women (NOW) elected Terry O’Neill to be its next President in a tight race this past weekend at their national conference in Indianapolis, Indiana. O’Neill, formerly a law professor at Tulane University and a Membership Vice President of National NOW under Kim Gandy’s first term in office, is currently Chief of Staff of Duchy Trachtenberg, County Councilmember for Montgomery County, Maryland. O’Neill’s ticket won by a razor-thin margin over Latifa Lyles, who currently serves as Membership Vice President, and her team.

O’Neill’s team, which takes office July 21, includes Bonnie Grabenhofer of Illinois as Executive Vice President, Erin Matson of Minnesota as Action Vice President, and Allendra Letsome of Maryland as Membership Vice President.

After 8 years as president, Kim Gandy will step down in July due to organizational term limits. In total, Gandy has served 22 years as a National NOW officer, starting as a Vice President for Membership under the presidency of the late Molly Yard. Gandy has been a NOW activist for 36 years, starting at the age of 19. Upon stepping down, Gandy will become a resident fellow of the Institute of Politics at the Harvard University Kennedy School of Government.

Lyles’ ticket included Sonia Ossorio, President of New York City NOW, as the candidate for Executive Vice President; Liz Gilchrist of Washington, DC, as the candidate for Membership Vice President; and Janice Rocco of California as the candidate for Action Vice President.


NOW Press Release 6/20/09; Feminist Leadership NOW Campaign Site; NOW is the Time Campaign Site

Support eh ERA banner