WITI Names 5 New “Hall of Fame” Inductees

Women in Technology International, has announced the names of five women who will be inducted into its “Hall of Fame” this June. This year’s inductees will include Yvonne C. Brill, Sherita T. Ceasar, Thelma Estrin, Ph.D.; Claudine Simson, Ph.D.; and Yukako Ychinago.

Brill is an aerospace consultant for the International Maritime Satellite Organization and is a specialist in satellite technology and propulsion systems. Caesar is vice president of Digital Launch Deployment for Scientific Atlanta and is working to launch the Explorer 2000 Digital Broadband Delivery System cable operator networks. Estrin is associate dean for the UCLA’s School of Engineering and Applied Science and directs the school’s Continuing Education Department of Engineering, Science, and Mathematics as well. Simson is vice president of global technology research and intellectual property for Nortel Networks. Uchinaga was the first women to hold a board position for a major computer company in Japan. She currently co-chairs IBM’s Global Workforce Diversity Council and serves on the Japanese Prime Minister’s Council for Gender Equality.

The induction ceremony will take place during WITI’s 1999 Technology Summit, scheduled for June 9-11 in Santa Clara, California. June is “Women in Science and Technology Month.”


Women in Technology International - April 12, 1999

Support eh ERA banner