Women’s Sports Foundation Nominates Sportswomen of the Year

At its annual dinner Monday, the Women’s Sports Foundation named basketball star Rebecca Lobo and speedskater Bonnie Blair “Sportswomen of the Year.” Lobo led her Connecticut team to an undefeated season and the 1995 NCAA title. Blair has won five Olympic gold medals and broke her own world record last year in the 500 meters race.

Christine Grant, the athletic director at Iowa University, received the Billie Jean King Contribution Award. The Colorado Silver Bullets, America3, the USA national basketball team and the late Wilma Rudolph received special tributes. The Foundation also inducted the following women into the International Women’s Sports Hall of Fame: nine-time New York City marathon winner Grete Waitz, Swedish orienteer Annichen Kringstad, Texas basketball coach Jody Conradt, former Prairie View A&M track and field coach Barbara Jacket, founder of the Women’s Professional Golf Association Betty Hicks and badminton champion Judy Devlin Hashman. TNT will televise the event at 10 p.m. on October 21, 1995.


Newshound, The San Jose Mercury News - October 18, 1995

Support eh ERA banner